The 50 Shades of House Music Compilation Features 10 Jakartan Producers

UNDERRADAR, a music and fashion label based in Jakarta, has released REDEFINE, a double volume compilation featuring ten Jakartan house producers.

In addition to being deeply rooted in the city’s rich history of underground parties and rave culture, all of the artists featured on the compilation present their own modern take on the genre’s 50 shades of house music. REDEFINE is a compilation of ten tracks spread across two volumes that explores subgenres such as Balearic, acid house, deep house, disco, minimal, and urban.


According to the curators, the goal of the compilation is to improve the image of local producers throughout Southeast Asia by “redefining” how Indonesian artists are perceived when viewed through the lens of the international community.

The compilation follows in the footsteps of Asia Futurist, a techno compilation released in October of 2021 in collaboration with the music and creative agency BASSIS Shanghai, which was also released in collaboration with the music and creative agency.

Underradar is a Jakarta-based fashion label founded by DJ Ecilo and Trisatria, a longtime friend and creative director who have worked together for years. It is part of the creative agency they are currently developing, which has several international music-based projects in the works. The fashion label is part of that creative agency umbrella.

The first volume of the REDEFINE Compilation Vol 1 was released on February 12 through UNDERRADAR’s Bandcamp. On March 22, REDEFINE Compilation Vol 2 will be available for purchase on UNDERRADAR’s Bandcamp. In addition to the two releases, there will be a special performance at Nebula Jakarta. Download it here.

REDEFINE Vol 1 Compilation:

1. Robin Rahardian ‘Boogie Claps (Original Mix)’
2. Baypoet ‘Lost Circuit (Original Mix)’
3. NAJ ‘369 (Original Mix)’
4. Hogi ‘Inner Voices (Original Mix)’
5. Timsdub ‘Jisc Dockey (Original Mix)’

REDEFINE Vol 2 Compilation:

1. Rulli ‘Survive & Sustain (Original Mix)’
2. Angga ‘Start Over (Original Mix)’
3. Turismo Avenue ‘P_1-2 (Original Mix)’
4. Missink Link ‘Si Perusuh (Original Mix)’
5. Hobs ‘Kasa Di Bornasol (Original Mix)’