Red Hot Chili Peppers Announce Surprise New Album ‘Return of the Dream Canteen’

The record is titled “Return Of The Dream Canteen,” and it is scheduled to be released on October 14 via Warner Records. Rick Rubin was once again responsible for the album’s production. You are able to place a pre-order for the album here.

The band released a statement in which they discussed the new album and said the following about it: “We went in search of ourselves as the band that we have somehow always been.  We got together to play some old tunes and jam for no reason other than to have fun. We did not wait long before we began the strange process of constructing new music. A lovely example of how chemistry can play tricks on you, this one had helped us out hundreds of times along the way.”

Red Hot Chili Peppers - Return of the Dream Canteen

Red Hot Chili Peppers made the announcement at the same time that they were beginning their tour in North America at Denver’s Empower Field.

In the month of June, they kicked off their stadium tour in the Estadio La Cartuja in Seville. During the 18-song set, Red Hot Chili Peppers debuted five new songs off their album titled “Unlimited Love.” These songs included “Aquatic Mouth Dance,” “Here Ever After,” “These Are The Ways,” and “Whatchu Thinkin’.” “Black Summer” was the album’s lead single. The band kicked off the performance with the huge single from 2003 titled “Can’t Stop,” and they continued to play a number of other classics throughout the night, including as “Scar Tissue,” “Californication,” and “Give It Away.”

The concert came to a close with a two-song encore that featured the songs “Under the Bridge” from 1992 and “By the Way” from 2002.

Watch the announcement from Red Hot Chili Peppers below:

Leave a Reply