Electric Asia Vol 5 continues in the tradition of their previous wide-ranging, eclectic dance albums, with this edition being perhaps their most in-depth release to date. Electric Asia Vol 5 is available now on iTunes.

“We are excited to announce the release of ‘Billboard Electric Asia Vol 5’ because it truly represents a cross-section of what’s happening across the region in 2021,” said Sean Dinsmore, Managing Director of b2 Music. ” As is customary, we are delighted to collaborate with Billboard in order to continue to showcase Asia’s exciting electronic music scene to the rest of the world.”

With artists from nine different countries contributing to the compilation, the focus is on the distinct flavors of drum’n’bass, house, hardstyle, EDM, and a few quirky styles thrown in for good measure. It effectively demonstrates the wide range of perspectives on dance music that exist in the region, as well as how it is created.

Among the album’s highlights are FREEZA’s dark remix of Zeds Dead’s ‘Alive,’ a Barong Family collaboration between DJ Sihk and Ray Ray for ‘Where are My Friends,’ a remix of international heavyweight 4B’s ‘There For You by DJ Lizzy Wang, underground artist Closet Yi‘s Pike’s ‘Peak (Hill Climbing),’ Sohail Arora, the founder of Indian label Krunk Kulture, makes his drum’n’bass debut under the alias EZ Riser, and Indian producer Venky makes his four-to-the-floor debut on the track ‘Clairvoyance.’.  Ramsey Westwood, a Malaysian artist, brings the four-beat affair to a close with his trance track ‘Can’t Sleep.’ On the eclectic side, Macau-based artist Achun keeps things interesting in the downtempo field, while Passerby contributes with ‘Life,’ a song that is an ode to the city of Hong Kong.

Two Hong Kong-based artists were chosen, with MJ Kuok delivering a melodic house track and Zight delivering a festival-friendly EDM riser in the form of ‘Everybody Keep Running’. Baalti, a San Francisco-based Indian duo, deliver a sweet groove on the track ‘Aame,’ while Khus Fir’s ‘A Tail,’ which was previously featured on our roundup of the best music videos from this year, makes its way onto Electric Asia Vol 5.

Here is the complete track listing:

Alive – Zeds Dead x MKLA (FREEZA RMX)
Where Are My Friends – RayRay x Sihk
There 4 You (Lizzy Wang RMX) – 4B
Routine – Kurasaki
Aame – Baalti
Bubble – Finding Mero
Pike’s Pique (Hill Climbing) – Closet Yi
Say Goodbye – Achun
444 – EZ Riser
Life – Passerby
Everybody Keep Running – Zight x Peter Forest
Aurora – MJ Kuok
Clairvoyance – VENKY
Can’t Sleep – Ramsey Westwood
A Tail – Khus Fir

‘Billboard Presents: Electric Asia Vol 5’ is out today on all major platforms, and you can listen to it right now by visiting this page.

Leave a Reply