It has been announced by the Olympic Council of Asia (OCA) that eight esports titles will be featured as medal events at the upcoming 19th Asian Games, which will take place in Hangzhou in China next year.

This is the first time that esports has been included as an official medal event at the Asian Games, which will take place from September 10 to September 25, 2022, in Singapore and other Asian countries.

The eight titles are as follows: 

1. Arena of Valor Asian Games Version
2 Dota 2
3. Dream Three Kingdoms 2
4. EA SPORTS FIFA branded soccer games
5. HearthStone
6. League of Legends
7. PUBG Mobile Asian Games Version
8. Street Fighter V

The announcement of the qualification stages, we hope, will provide all participating teams with ample time to prepare and equip themselves for the qualifying stages. It appears to me that we have checked all of the necessary boxes to ensure a high level of competition that will be exciting to watch for both enthusiasts and casual fans. According to OCA Director General Hussain Al-Musallam, “We at the OCA are looking forward to working closely with our friends at the Asian Electronic Sports Federation and the Hangzhou Asian Games Organising Committee to ensure a successful execution of the esports event at the 2022 Asian Games.”

The 2018 Asian Games featured demonstration events for five video games, including League of Legends, Arena of Valor, Pro Evolution Soccer 2018, StarCraft II, Hearthstone, and Clash Royale.  Esports made its debut as an official medal event at the 2019 Southeast Asian Games, which were held in the Philippines, and it will do so again at the upcoming 2021 Southeast Asian Games, which will be held in Hanoi, Vietnam.


Six games were played at the SEA Games in the Philippines, including Starcraft II, Mobile Legends Bang Bang, Dota 2, Hearthstone, Arena of Valor, and Tekken 7. It will be the second time in history that esports will be featured as a medal event in an international multi-sport competition sanctioned by the International Olympic Committee if the Southeast Asian Games proceed as planned in 2021; the finalised list of the video games that will be featured will be unveiled some time next year.

Following the Philippines’ five medals (three of which were gold) in esports last year, the country was followed by Thailand with four medals (two of which were gold and two silver) and Malaysia with two medals (one gold, one bronze). Indonesia took home two silver medals, Singapore took home one silver and one bronze, and Vietnam took home three bronze medals overall.