Malaysia is hosting the country’s first esports tournament for individuals with disabilities, which will run from now until October 24 in an effort to make esports more inclusive and accessible for all.

The Para Malaysia Esports League 2021 (Para MEL21), which has a prize pool of RM10,000 (US$2,400), is in line with the Malaysian government’s goal of developing the esports scene while providing a safe and inclusive environment for the local gaming community where anyone can become professional gamers, regardless of their identities.

img main3 mobile

Malaysian Youth and Sports Ministry (KBS) has endorsed the tournament, which is organized by Techninier and Esports Integrated and aims to provide people with disabilities (PWD) a nationwide platform to compete and showcase their skills to a larger market.

“Providing opportunities for everyone to participate has always been the cornerstone of KBS’s programs and initiatives, and this is true for esports as well. As esports continues to grow as a global phenomenon and develops into one of the world’s largest industries, it is critical to ensure that access is provided to as many esports enthusiasts as possible, including those from the public sector, according to Malaysian Youth and Sports Minister Dato’ Seri Ahmad Faizal bin Dato’ Azumu.

Para MEL21 will take place from now until the 24th of October. Additionally, all players registered on esukan.gg can participate in the Hebat Challenge, which will feature Techninier’s self-developed game Super Jones, for a chance to win a RM1,000 prize during the month of August. The main Player Unknown’s Battlegrounds Mobile (PUBGM) para-esports tournament will take place on 18-24 October, with players competing in solo and squad categories for a total prize pool of RM10,000. The tournament will be held in Malaysia. Additionally, the PUBG champions of the Malaysia Esports League 2021 (MEL21) have been invited to participate in a PUBGM Show Match on 9 October in conjunction with the Malaysia Esports Festival (MEF), which is open to any and all registered players in the tournament.